AskJulesare agents for young disabled adults who choose to employ Personal Assistants to provide their care and support.

Start Date: ASAP

Location: Didcot, Oxfordshire – OX11

Shift Pattern- 7 days on / 7 days off

Pay& Benefits:

Pay: £180 per day

5.6 weeks holiday (pro rata)

Full bespoke training in the clients particular requirements will be provided

NEST Pension Scheme

About our client:

Our client is a 21-year-old graduate who is returning home after studying Psychology at the University of Cambridge. The client is a social and bubbly person, whose main passion lies with music, art and travel. They have Spinal Muscular Atrophy Type 3 and as a result, they are a full-time electric wheelchair user. They do not let this condition hold them back and have a positive outlook on life.

As written by the client …

“I am an ambitious, optimistic person who is always up for a laugh and a chat. I love being around people and having new experiences.

Im very creative and music is a huge part of my life (although Im not a very talented musician!). My music taste is very varied, ranging from rock and old school soul/RnB to rap, hip-hop, indie and musical theatre.

I love being with friends and going clubbing, to concerts, festivals, comedy shows and the theatre. Im also very family-oriented and enjoy experiencing different cultures. I have strong family connections to Poland and Liverpool and have studied French since I was young.

I would love to go travelling one day and potentially work promoting disability acceptance and equality in countries where the standards are poor or, equally, encouraging greater diversity and exposure in the UK education system and media.

Outside of my professional future, Id also love to travel to experience different cultures and meet new people. Australia, Vietnam, Laos, Canada, Greece, India and Brazil are currently high on my list but there are many, many more places that Id love to visit.

I am not looking for a carer or a nurse – I need a Personal Assistant to support me to achieve and access my ambitions. I know from experience that the partnership we will build is integral to my well-being and we will therefore need to work together to establish something that works.

Ultimately, I love it when my PAs and I can become friends – from experience, it makes the job so much more enjoyable for both of us!”

About the Job

Duties would include:

Supporting our client with all aspects of their life, including:

Driving our clients vehicle

Morning/Evening routine – such as getting in & out of bed

Assisting with personal care when required (i.e dressing/undressing, drying after showering, toileting, assistance with hair and make-up)

Preparing meals and going shopping with the client

The above is not an exhaustive list of duties.

Previous care experience is not required as full training will be given.

About You

You will need:

UK Driving Licence – confident in driving the clients automatic vehicle. (Essential)

Have a good sense of humour

Motivated and enthusiastic

A good timekeeper

Reliable and organised and maintain excellent standards

Flexible and hardworking

A good conversationalist but also a good listener

Fluent in English

Of smart appearance and have a sense of pride in your work

Calm, patient and caring with a friendly demeanour

Comfortable around animals – the client has a dog at home

You will be fully trained prior to starting, so previous experience of this type of work is not required.

You must be able to respect our client’s privacy and have an understanding of the need for confidentiality in all areas of your work.

If you would like to apply for this position, please describe your interests and why you would be suitable in your cover letter.

AskJulesis committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of vulnerable adults. All applicants must be willing to undergo the appropriate screening, including checks with past employers and an Enhanced Disclosure via the Disclosure and Barring Service.

PA / Carer / Support Worker – Recent Psychology Graduate on a Gap Year

This job was originally posted as: https://thecareerwallet.com/stats/track/MTQzMjc3MDY0OC18LTE0NS18LTcw